4 classifications of infectious non-union

Infectious non-union is a condition in which fracture fails to unite due to some infectious process locally or systemically.

There are several classification systems for this type of non-union. Here we discuss four of them.

4 Classifications Systems of infectious non-union

  1. May’s classification
  2. Weiland
  3. Kulkarni
  4. Umiarov

May’s classification

It’s essentially the extension of classification of chronic osteomyelitis by May et.al. More details here

Weiland classification of infectious non-union

This classification uses the concept of extent of infection of bone and has three subtypes

  1. Type I: Open and exposed bone. No osseous infection. Only soft tissue infection
  2. Type 2: Circumferential cortical and endosteal infection
  3. Type 3: Cortico-endosteal infection with bone defect

Umiarov’s classification

This is one of a favorite classification amongst orthopedic practitioners. It has 4 types, namely

  1. Type I: Normotrophic without shortening
  2. Type II: Hypertropic with shortening
  3. Type III: Atrophic with shortening
  4. Type IV: Atrophic with bone and soft tissue defect

Kulkarni classification

This classification grades infective non-union based on severity of infection; apposition of fragments and presence or absence of deformity

Kulkarni classfication, infectious non-union

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *